Logo - Clark County Ohio Solid Waste District

About Us

OUR MISSION STATEMENT

The District’s Mission is to ensure that comprehensive, high-quality solid waste services are available to Clark County residents and businesses, and to supply environmental education and assistance to the community that will promote cost-effective and self-supporting waste reduction programs.

Annual Report for 2017

The District prepares an annual report on its programs and activities. That report is presented to the Clark County Commisssioners and the Springfield City Commission. A copy of the 2017 report is avaiable here.

Solid Waste Plan

The District prepares a 15-year Solid Waste Management Plan  that sets out goals and programs for the district. The plan is updated every five years and the update is ratified by political entities representing at least 60 percent of the county's population and by the county commissioners, as well as being approved by Ohio EPA. To see the current Solid Waste Management Plan for the years 2013-2027, click here.

The Policy Committee is working on the latest update of the Solid Waste Management Plan. A paper copy of the Draft Plan Update is available at the Solid Waste District office, 1602 West Main St. An electronic copy is available here..

As part of our research for possible new programs, we have been making videos of what some other solid waste districts do. To read about these programs and view these videos, click here.

Click on the links to see past Solid Waste Management Plans for the years 2007-2022 and 2000-2014.

Minutes of the Solid Waste Policy Committee meetings can be found at these links:

 Minutes of Jan. 17, 2018, meeting..

 Minutes of March 21, 2018, meeting..

 Minutes of July 18, 2018, meeting..


Board of Directors
Richard Lohnes, County Commissioner
Lowell McGlothin, County Commissioner
Melanie Flax Wilt, County Commissioner


Solid Waste District Policy Committee
David Estrop Charles Patterson
David Farrell Bobbie Sin
Len Hartoog Melanie Flax Wilt
Tim McDaniel


Technical Advisory Council
Bill Boone Larry Ricketts
Bill Cook Connie Strobbe
Sandy Henry Marshall Whitacre
Anne Kaup-Fett Merritt Wichner
Chris Moore  
 
 

>
District Staff
Chuck Bauer, Director cbauer@clarkcountyohio.gov
Deputy George Bennett, Environmental Officer gbennett@clarkcountyohio.gov
John Haughey, Recycling Facility Manager jhaughey@clarkcountyohio.gov
Bonnie Martens, Program Manager bmartens@clarkcountyohio.gov
Linda Mitchell, GAC Assistant lmitchell@clarkcountyohio.gov
Deputy Brad Tillman, Environmental Officer btillman@clarkcountyohio.gov